I Do Not Speak Well…

Isn’t that the truth…

I’ve noticed that I seem to be inept at expressing myself well. People often misinterpret what I may say. I’ve noticed it to be a frustrating thing. I should probably just give up and slide into this level of expression.

4 responses to “I Do Not Speak Well…

  1. I don’t speak very well either. So what? The whole point of having a blog is so we can get ideas out there, get feedback, and figure out how to express them better with each post.
    Please, please don’t stop writing!

  2. Ian, you worry too much. Alasdair, you worry too much.

  3. Funny you mention it. I was just writing a blog post on this (hope to have it up in the next few days). I make a living by expressing myself, but since I started a blog I’ve discovered just how many different ways people will interpret or misinterpret the things we say. We can strive for precision or meaning, but in the end we can’t control the filters others are hearing/reading our words through—so blogging is teaching me to let go, and not worry what others *think* I say even when it’s not at all what I said. It’s hard.

    I guess what I really wanted to say is what Caitlin already did: you worry too much (so do I!) LOL

    • Thanks for the comment Susan. I think your right. Many people are going to hear what they want to hear. I’m thinking the best way to get around being misinterpreted is to think about ways your writing could be viewed and then try and work around those ways so that there is very little wiggle room. If I happen to be writing lyrics i try and do this. I don’t want things to be taken out of context. Although this is hard because lyrics often have to have a poetic quality as well.

Leave a Reply

